Evers have recently finished the restoration works and part extension to Rebow House, a grade II listed building in Head Street, Colchester.
This historically fascinating restoration project presented the project team with daily challenges as parts of the house and basement dated back to the 13th century.
During the 1700’s property was owned by the member of parliament Sir Isaac Rebow which is when the house was originally rebuilt. Our team unearthed a section of wallpaper hidden behind the lath and plaster dating back to the 1700’s when King William III was a frequent visitor. This wallpaper was carefully exposed and framed during our project and can now be seen in one of the rooms.
A team of archaeologists was on site at the beginning of the project exposing the existing footings by hand uncovering parts of the original building.
Our refurbishment works involved the strip out and light demolition throughout the building and part demolition of a single storey extension, to enable the creation of three new office spaces and a shop.
We extended the rear of Rebow House by constructing a modern glass single storey structure with brick piers and a green roof that fitted perfectly in between the existing wings. This extension houses the reception area, a kitchenette and WC facilities.
Our highly skilled joinery division painstakingly restored all the existing listed sash windows and repaired/replaced many historic timbers found suffering from the infestation of death watch beetle, woodworm and rot. Our work also included structural reinforcing of the property with steelwork supports.
Existing woodchip paper was removed and replaced with specialist lime lath and plaster and paint to allow the walls to breathe. M&E work involved LED lighting and air conditioning throughout.
TJ Evers Ltd were delighted to be involved in such a fantastic project and our team is rightfully proud of the quality of workmanship displayed in restoring Rebow House back to its former glory.